Write this blog! – number 1

Ok so you could argue that just by writing I’m doing this one, but it’s more than that. It’s about learning. Two main things really, how this works (I want to be able to add photos which I will try out in a minute!) and learning how to write. An article I wrote was published once and I even got paid for it! It was a very long time ago and not a lot of money, but I do like the idea of doing something a bit different. So this blog I hope will help me, if nothing else to get into the habit of writing on a regular basis. I don’t want to ‘earn a living’ from it, I know that is unrealistic. But it would be nice to reach a wider audience in time.

What have I learnt so far? Well, by having had such a gap after my second every post, it was the need to have a focus of something to write about, hence using the list. That has the double benefit of getting me out and about and actually doing things too! I’ve also read some other blogs, advice I’ve seen from other writers always includes ‘do lots of reading’. I don’t know about lots, but I will certainly make time to do some reading. I have subscribed to a couple of blogs and will continue to do so. I will be reasonably discerning, I would far rather read a few good blogs, than lots and lots of not so good blogs. Of course, what constitutes good and not so good is another story in itself.

Back to the technical….(another thing I’ve learnt, I try to use the word ‘so’ far too often – I nearly started this paragraph with it!). How to add a photo, I can’t write about the poppies without sharing a photo. First step – save draft! Second step, find the right buttons. Woo there we are, well there I am anyway!10529448_10203062799665188_1953672006_n A photo taken a few months ago at a B&B just outside of Bolton in Lancashire. Now I want to see if I can wrap the text around the photo. And all I had to do was drag the photo into the text. Bingo!

Another thing I have learned over time is not to try to do too much at once. I have sorted out the photo and that’s enough for one sitting. I often want to be perfect at things straight away, so a little restraint and mastering of skills one by one will do me now harm at all!

When I next come to learn something on here it will be how to make the posts look a bit more interesting, different backgrounds and the like.

It was my first day back at work today after the Christmas break. I am very pleased that I have continued to post – I know it’s only the third one on this attempt, but it’s all going in the right direction. I want to write a post once or twice a week which I think is a much more achievable target than every day.

 

Leave a Reply

